//
now reading...
Comunidades, English, Gestión e innovación, Herramientas

Valdis Krebs on network graphs and online community

For quite a long time, I’ve come to respect the work of Valdis Krebs. As a pioneer in the concept of social network analysis and its application, and as a “network weaver” (something close to a community manager but less domain-related) but especially as someone able to convey what all that means.

A couple of days ago at Patrick Lambe’s Green Chameleon blog (Patrick, do your remember about that draft paper :-D) I saw a link to this: he’s mapped the “typical online community” and graphed it, but he’s also taken the time to explain some of the key phenomena of a community in terms of networks and their representation. While of course there’s a lot more to the story, the parts he tells are so very well told (and so plainly visible with his graphs) that I’m sure he’s built a very useful reference. I’m bound to use it, for one, and I hope many people come to the SNA toolset that way.

I don’t know if the work is recent or not, but it looks so. If you already knew it, please excuse the repetition :-).

Comentarios

3 comentarios en “Valdis Krebs on network graphs and online community

  1. Thank you for the link!

    You spelled my name wrong — it should be: Krebs

    Thanks.

    Publicado por Valdis Krebs | enero 10, 2008, 8:44 pm
  2. Yes I do remember Miguel, with some embarrassment! I’m still struggling to excavate down to that level in my inbox!

    Publicado por Patrick Lambe | enero 11, 2008, 6:08 am
  3. Hi Valdis,

    thank you for writing the article… and my excuses for the misspelling :-), I’ve just corrected it. Shame, shame.

    Patrick, I look forward to the success of your excavations :-D.

    Publicado por Miguel | enero 11, 2008, 9:41 am

Responder

