//
now reading...
English, Vida

iPhone: a force for good or a time-sink?

I’m becoming concerned about my iPhone use. True, it’s a nice phone and PIM, and lets me handle my mail in a very confortable way. But just how much time am I burning on it?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t play games (well, two at Lux Touch and one run at Terminator LT surely don’t count). But ever since mid-May I’ve read such a heap of books on the little thing that I’m beginning to wonder. And the worst part is that it’s all “fun” and no work, there being an outright abundance of free good literature but not many free relevant tech or business tracts available for download in the integrated online services. I haven’t taken a white paper or a report (or even The Economist) out in any of my commutes or travel ever since I bought the thing.

Wonder what I mean? See the reading list:

– The last of the legions (and other stories), Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

– A desert drama, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

– The lair of the white worm, Bram Stoker

– A Wodehouse miscellany, PG Wodehouse

– Jill the Reckless, PG Wodehouse

– My man Jeeves, PG Wodehouse

– Right ho, Jeeves, PG Wodehouse

– The adventures of Sally, PG Wodehouse

– The clicking of Cuthbert, PG Wodehouse

– The girl on the boat, PG Wodehouse

– The white feather, PG Wodehouse

– Uneasy money, PG Wodehouse

– Rupert of Hentzau, Anthony Hope

– Bardelys the Magnificent, Rafael Sabatini

– Captain Blood, Rafael Sabatini

– Casanova’s Alibi, Rafael Sabatini

– Scaramouche, Rafael Sabatini

– The Sea-hawk, Rafael Sabatini

– The puppet masters, Robert A Heinlein

– Project Mastodon (short story), Clifford D Simak

– Arm of the law (short story), Harry Harrison

– Spell of Catastrophe (now working on the continuation), Mayer A. Brenner

– Tarzan of the Apes, Edgard R Burroughs

Is that all? I fear not. Besides having dropped several tomes half-way either for lack of tempo or for software failures (Wattpad is a bit of a disappointment), I’ve also revisited some seven Pratchett discworld books which I downloaded from a long-defunct russian site. I try to atone for the long-ago intellectual theft by buying those of his books that get published in Spanish and those English versions I can find in stores, so nowadays I don’t need the rtf’s… but they’re so convenient.

It’s worrying. I did use to read a lot of paper books, but either I was doing more than I realized, or I burned through far more papers and magazines than I counted. Either that, or reading on the iPhone is so much more efficient. I mean, look at the time this must have consumed… and I haven’t stopped doing anything that ever got on my agenda.

Technological mysteries, or extreme conveniency. Now, if it did get G3 coverage on the beachfront, I think I’d never let the rubber-cased devil out of sight.

Comentarios

3 comentarios en “iPhone: a force for good or a time-sink?

  1. Hi Miguel,
    Been following your blog for a while now.
    Recommend you ditch the i-phone.
    I have been living without a mobile phone at all for about a year now and am just loving it – and getting along fine. It means I can prioritise my time and communicate when I want to communicate – and I dont get distracted by all the online treats available.
    Cheers
    Tim Kannegieter

    Publicado por Tim Kannegieter | julio 29, 2009, 4:59 am
  2. Hi Tim.

    Might be a good idea :-). On the other hand I find it very useful to be aware of the email ongoings while I travel (I rarely answer on the move) and it’s the first PIM I’ve ever found easy to use. Plus there’s the podcasts. I couldn’t stand so much travel without the podcasts.

    And the visual voicemail management is so convenient when you don’t care to answer calls. And the…

    That’s not to say your method isn’t tempting :-). It must leave a lot of time for thought.

    Best regards,

    Miguel

    Publicado por Miguel | julio 29, 2009, 10:39 pm
  3. Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

    Publicado por nick | agosto 4, 2009, 1:39 am

Responder

